Different kinds of dementia

| General Disclaimer | Latest Health News | Homepage |


  Related Sites 

Different kinds of dementia 

Different kinds of dementia 

What Are the Different Kinds of Dementia?

Dementing disorders can be classified many different ways. 

These classification schemes attempt to group disorders that have particular features in common, such as whether they are progressive or what parts of the brain are affected. Some frequently used classifications include the following:

Cortical dementia - dementia where the brain damage primarily affects the brain's cortex, or outer layer. Cortical dementias tend to cause problems with memory, language, thinking, and social behavior.

Subcortical dementia - dementia that affects parts of the brain below the cortex. Subcortical dementia tends to cause changes in emotions and movement in addition to problems with memory.

Progressive dementia - dementia that gets worse over time, gradually interfering with more and more cognitive abilities.

Primary dementia - dementia such as AD that does not result from any other disease.

Secondary dementia - dementia that occurs as a result of a physical disease or injury.

Some types of dementia fit into more than one of these classifications. For example, AD is considered both a progressive and a cortical dementia.


Source:  Public Domain

Read another article on dementia?

Back to the Free tips on Healthcare Homepage


Valid HTML 4.01! for Different kinds of dementia


© Anthony George 2005 Different kinds of dementia Sponsor Love My Town